Practical Preparations

Through your Listening practices and your dreaming, eventually that vague sense of impending change will start to crystallize into specifics. Once that occurs, the time for unplanning shifts into the time for the more traditional sort of planning activities.

Ok, I’ll admit that I find research rather comforting. When faced with the unknown, I try to research it into becoming the known. While others might not find this as soothing as I do, it’s still a good way to prepare for a Leap. Gather all the information, spend time with it, sort through it. Balance it with your gut when making decisions. A well-informed Leap is a little less scary than a blind one!

Most big changes will require some kind of logistics. I found it very helpful to break things down into smaller steps. As a whole, making a drastic life change is freaking intimidating. Breaking it into steps and sub-steps made me feel like I could tackle it. The truth is I’m sure I could handle it either way, but making it feel manageable means less energy wasted on anxiety. Action steps, a timeline or calendar, and a sense of your expenses all go into formalizing your plan.

Speaking of expenses; time to get comfortable with the idea of parting ways with some cash. Be smart about it! When I was looking at moving trucks, I was blown away by the difference in prices among the major companies, and that it directly tied to how close or far my destination was to one of their facilities. In the end I went with the middle option; I was willing to drive an extra 45 minutes to save hundreds. On the other hand, money is there to make things work for you, however you define that. When I was looking at my furnishings, to me it was worth buying new pieces from IKEA, moving them unassembled, and putting them together at the new place instead of wrestling with my large, mismatched, worn-out existing furniture. Sure it was a splurge of a few hundred dollars, but it made moving easier and it made the new place feel like way more of a home than my old place ever did.

Remember, plan, but don’t get too attached to the plan. Things will come up. Have confidence that the world doesn’t give you anything you can’t handle one way or another. And you can handle it. When our moving truck’s windshield washer fluid lines were frozen and Neal (who was driving the truck with the stuff while I was driving my car with the cats) couldn’t see, we had to get creative, with me positioning my car in front of the truck, using my windshield washer fluid, and him making use of the blowback to clean his windshield!

Leave a Reply

